Turbo-charge Your Website by Thanking Your Champions

December 11, 2010 at 10:40 am Leave a comment

The last Advantage Biz Blog suggested giving recommendations as a genuine, from-the-heart Christmas gift.  If you’ve been blessed with such a gift, or if LinkedIn associates have recommended you over the years, how have you said “Thank you?” Emails and reciprocal recommendations are always nice, but what have you done recently for your champions?  On the other hand, how have you used the recommendations they’ve given you? Have you let these gifts sit in the box or have you enjoyed and shared them?

I recently redid my website at www.advantage-biz.com, because just like a house, you need to redecorate once in awhile.  The “Extreme Makeover, Website Style” was ok, but the decor needed accents.  Armed with my trusty “copy” command, I visited my LinkedIn account, culled  kind comments I have received over the years and pasted them into my website.  Wow.  Big impact. 

But don’t stop there.  I had already given reciprocal recommendations; what else could I do?  To borrow from Red Green*, I used the web builder’s secret weapon: The Hot Link!  With a few clicks, those who were kind enough to give me recommendations had a brand new incoming link and a new connection in the cyber world.  In the interest of propriety, and to say hello, I emailed each champion asking them to review the posting, in context, and let me know immediately if they wanted it removed or changed.  I pointed out the hot link as well.

That’s it. Nothing really big, but like snowflakes, every little thing does count.

*If you’re wondering about the “Red Green” reference above, google it on UTube. It has nothing to do with Christmas. You’ll know you have the right web postings if you see a woodsman with suspenders and a plaid shirt.

Once again, Merry Christmas to all!

Entry filed under: business growth, Business growth: strategies & tools, Business Strategy, business tips, small business, strategic planning, strategy, Uncategorized.

The Free and Priceless Christmas Gift Profit in 2011: A Quiz!

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Forums, Strategies & Support to Grow Business

Advantage Business Concepts provides a range of resources for growing businesses. We offer forums, seminars, networking groups, innovative networking processes, presentations, facilitation and customized solutions to meet the unique needs of each business. Click on the link below to learn more about Advantage Business Concepts.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 456 other subscribers

About Us